Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

StephS007

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2012
When I bought Skyrim, I installed it with Steam and on my old Windows 7 computer. Its not a very good gaming computer and Skyrim is always a little laggy on it. I learned to deal with it but now I've got a Mac Book Pro that I know for a fact won't make Skyrim laggy.

The problem is, I have no idea how to transfer it. Do I just put the files on a USB and directly bring it over? If so, what exact files do I get? I'm really scared that I could mess up the files and have no Skyrim on either computer. What is the best and safest way to transfer? Please give me step by step instructions because I'm not good at dealing with computer files.

Northwestern

macrumors regular
Sep 13, 2011
When I bought Skyrim, I installed it with Steam and on my old Windows 7 computer. Its not a very good gaming computer and Skyrim is always a little laggy on it. I learned to deal with it but now I've got a Mac Book Pro that I know for a fact won't make Skyrim laggy.

The problem is, I have no idea how to transfer it. Do I just put the files on a USB and directly bring it over? If so, what exact files do I get? I'm really scared that I could mess up the files and have no Skyrim on either computer. What is the best and safest way to transfer? Please give me step by step instructions because I'm not good at dealing with computer files.

1. Windows installed via Bootcamp on MBP
2. Install Skyrim via Steam in Bootcamp
3. Copy Save files from your old computer into the same directory of your MBP in Bootcamp:
a) C:\Users\[UserName]\Documents\My Games\Skyrim\Save (Windows Vista/7)
b) C:\Documents and Settings[UserName]\My Documents\My Games\Skyrim\Saves (Windows XP)

Should probably work :D

Suspended
Jan 18, 2005
Does it support Steam Cloud? If so, just enable that.