Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

freebird2003

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2007
Transition to Mac Pro

I have been using pc/windows environment for more than 15 years. I never even thought of purchasing a Mac system. I am studying filming and visual effects and I plan to purchase a killer 64bit environment workstation for high end video editing and rendering. I have considered HP workstation and dell precision workstation. I also realized recently apple unleashed octec core Mac pro. After careful analyzing the specification and I must say I am impress with the specification and it is a no nonsense system.

And furthermore it is more cost effective when compared with dell, hp or ibm workstation. My main reason to consider mac pro is boot camp and able to install xp or vista 64 bit edition. Before I make the full transition these are my concerns:

1. Should I wait for boot camp to be compatible with 64bit of windows?
  2. I am still new to the EFI. I am aware the vistas 64 have EFI. Will I be able to install vista 64 successfully?
  3. Will I be able to set vista/xp has the default os?
  4. Will I abe able to install vista/xp in a separate hdd ?
  5. This question might sound strange. Will I be able to format the hdd (remore mac osx) and juz install vista 64 or xp x64?
  6. Say, I have installed all the vista/xp and all the drivers successfully, does that means, now the mac pro is juz like another pc workstation. And now I can install all the windows software as I would install in a normal pc?
  7. For hardware, am I able to add hdd from 3rd party vendors like WD, Maxtor. Am I be able to add blu-ray internal drive from 3rd party vendors if they are sata interface(diy)

Father Jack

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2007
Ireland
Transition to Mac Pro