Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RagmanZL

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 2, 2023
Good morning. Newbie here. Looking to learn more about Mac's as I have been a Windows user most of my life.
Ive used a few Macs before but never knew a whole lot about them.

I have a friend who lost her son. She found a Mini Mac when going through his things and would like to use it herself.
She said the Mac needed his password which she didnt have so she asked if I could get the computer working for her.

I told her I would take a look and asked if she wanted me to try to recover any of his files or data and she said no, she just wants a computer to use.

So I followed instructions online to hold Option-R and enter the disk utility tool, I erased the main hard drive but left the receovery partition alone. I then tried to reinstall Sierra but it continues to fail. I am plugged into ethernet but i get either a download error or an error stating it cant be installed and I need to visit the purchase page. I have tried several times. I also tried creating a bootable USB of Big Sur OS using TransMac but when I try to boot to USB it just wants to install from the internet which always fails.

Id really like to help her out with this but Im afraid I may be in over my head.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
This may or may not work.
But give it a try.

You want to boot to INTERNET recovery:
Command-OPTION-R
at boot.

If you're connecting via wifi, you'll need your wifi password.
The internet utilities take a while to load, be patient.
(ethernet is better than wifi -- IF it's available)

When the utilities are loaded, open disk utility.
VERY IMPORTANT STEP, DO NOT SKIP: go to the view menu and choose "show all devices".

Look at "the list on the left".
You should be able to see the drive inside on the TOP line.
We need to erase it COMPLETELY and start over.