Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yuzu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2021
I've just bought a refurbished iPhone XS from a reputable dealer and on initial start-up i've got the message:

'Unable to verify this iPhone has a genuine Apple battery. Health information not available for this battery.'

I've done a bit of digging and understand that batteries are replaced by many dealers as part of the refurb if the battery life is showing to be below a certain (yet unspecified) percentage, but...

Should i be looking to return the phone and requesting one with a genuine Apple battery?

This is my first time buying refurbished so not sure what to do.

PS: I've also checked the screen following a few online tutorials and that seems to be a genuine OLED screen (in that the True Tone option is available).

AJAAY

macrumors 6502
Sep 29, 2012
If you’re going the refurbished route when purchasing an iPhone. I would recommend only purchasing them from the Apple refurbished store.

Yuzu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2021
The store in question is Music Magpie which are supposed to be one of the most reputable refurb dealers in the UK?!

According to this page on their website any batteries below 80% health are replaced as standard in-house.

Another (apparently) reputable dealer – BackMarket – seem to have a similar policy.

Is a new replacement battery with good health not better than a genuine apple battery that has poor health?

More than willing to return it if the consensus suggests i should. Not sure where i stand in terms of asking for a replacement with a genuine Apple battery though.

Yuzu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2021
If you’re going the refurbished route when purchasing an iPhone. I would recommend only purchasing them from the Apple refurbished store.