Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whitby

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 13, 2007
Austin, TX
I upgraded my 2020 iMac (Intel i9 with 64 GB memory, 4 TB SSD) to Monterey 12.2 and am now experiencing random hard crashes (machine stops responding, goes black and then reboots and starts normally).

In all cases I was using either FaceTime in a video session or Zoom in a video session. The system froze and was unresponsive, blanked the screen and rebooted eventually. No kernel panic messages). Prior to the upgrade I had not experienced a single issue (except with Softraid in early Monterey and Big Sur releases). Either I am suffering from an unfortunate coincidence of an update and hardware failure or there is a bug that has been introduced in 12.2. I have a 2020 M1 MBA, 2021 M1 24" iMac and 2021 M1 Max MacBook Pro which I have not allowed to update until I am fully satisfied that this is not a bug or that it is constrained to Intel machines.

Note that all other applications appear to work satisfactorily e.g. Microsoft 365, Lightroom Classic, Photoshop, Photos, Safari, VMWare Fusion, OWC Softraid etc.

Anyone else experience a problem like this after the update?

Thanks for any help or guidance you might be able to provide.

• Sad
Reactions: yitwail

MarMar1111

macrumors newbie
May 24, 2022
I upgraded my 2020 iMac (Intel i9 with 64 GB memory, 4 TB SSD) to Monterey 12.2 and am now experiencing random hard crashes (machine stops responding, goes black and then reboots and starts normally).