Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NoFoo Panda

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2020
So I am a bit new to this stuff, I apologize ahead of time for my lack of knowledge, but I'm picking it up quickly.
I have a 2012 Mac Pro tower. I recently upgraded it to dual 3.4ghz 6 core (12 core) and fully loaded 128gb ram. I also put in a Sapphire RX 580 8gb. I have an EVO 590 NVMe drive in the PCI slot and it is set for the boot drive. And 2 normal HDD's. I am running the most current release of Mojave 10.14.6

I do a ton of artwork illustration, and video editing. The problem I am having...

When using After Effects, only when using the Preview (hitting the space bar) or during final render in the render queue, I get this high pitched, sustained beeping sound. I am uncertain if it is coming from the GPU, or the CPU. I have a hunch it's the GPU.

I have monitored my heat levels and set up mac fan control to make sure it was not a heat sinc issue. It does not seem as though it is. With the fans on it barely gets over 55 celsius which from my understanding is well within the range.

I have also tried changing every parameter possible for the AE settings. Nothing has made a difference.

Could it be a power issue, drawing too much power while rendering? Playback, video, and all other things I do with the computer are fast and flawless. This seems to be exclusive to rendering and using graphics software.

I would love some help. I have scoured the web, and not found the solution. The very moment, the render is complete, the beep stops. and the moment i stop the preview the beep stops. Otherwise it is sustained. It also starts at random times. It is not clear why or when it is set off.

I'm using the current Adobe suite, so After Effects CC 2020 at the moment. And PremierePro and photoshop all the same. No issues with anything else as I said.