Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wPod

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 19, 2003
Denver, CO
I work in the IT department of my university (Im a student worker, and the only mac guy in the department) and someone in the building just upgraded their old Sawtooth to a new iMac. So, that means the IT department gets to keep the Sawtooth (though I am trying to work out a deal so I can end up with it :) ) So anyway, it has OS 8.6 on it and I really want to put OS X on it. But, the only OS X disks I have are upgrade disks, or machine specific. The upgrade disks require OS X already be installed and the machine specific disks only work with my PowerBook, or I have a really old iBook G3 disk sitting around somewhere. Either way, I dont think I will be able to install with the disks i have! I dont really want to pay for a full new version of 10.4, but I don't think I have any other choice do i? Also what about DVD drives. I am not sure if the sawtooth has a DVD reader in it so I wouldnt be able to install 10.4 anyway (unless i send in for the CDs yeah yeah, takes too much time) So what should i do? thanks!

Will Cheyney

macrumors 6502a
Jul 13, 2005
United Kingdom
Just looked up what a 'Sawtooth' was... A 1999 Power Mac G4.
According to Mac Tracker, it'll accept OS X no problem. It also has a DVD drive. Have you tried using your PowerBook OS X install discs? In the past when I've tried, they've worked on other systems anyway.
Other than that, you'll have to acquire a version some other way... A nice friend or an Apple Store :)

wPod

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 19, 2003
Denver, CO
Will Cheyney said:
Just looked up what a 'Sawtooth' was... A 1999 Power Mac G4.
According to Mac Tracker, it'll accept OS X no problem. It also has a DVD drive. Have you tried using your PowerBook OS X install discs? In the past when I've tried, they've worked on other systems anyway.