Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kake001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
Hi guys I am newbie here I have mid 2010 Mac Pro single core cpu I am looking to upgrade to dual core cpu I have chance to purchase used dual core cpu Mac Pro 2010 and I am thinking of swapping cpu trays and purchasing two X5690 6 core CPUs is this possible in my situation any problems your see? This is image of computer I am planing to purchase it’s around 150

Thanks

Attachments

• 301737B9-E045-4299-B352-54F7A422E249.jpeg
    301737B9-E045-4299-B352-54F7A422E249.jpeg
    93.1 KB · Views: 166

adam9c1

macrumors 68000
May 2, 2012
Chicagoland
Hello,

From your description it sounds like your current computer and the one you are looking to buy are both 5,1 2010.
The tray from the one you are buying will work with your computer.

One thing I would recommend is this:
After the purchase of the $150 computer, run the tray as is in your computer to confirm the hardware is stable.

Buy quality thermal paste, and a wrench, Count the number of turns for each screw. Remove and reinstall in cross pattern, turning 3x per screw. Also remember the two heat sinks are not interchangeable.

You got this!

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
Hi guys I am newbie here I have mid 2010 Mac Pro single core cpu I am looking to upgrade to dual core cpu I have chance to purchase used dual core cpu Mac Pro 2010 and I am thinking of swapping cpu trays and purchasing two X5690 6 core CPUs is this possible in my situation any problems your see? This is image of computer I am planing to purchase it’s around 150

Thanks

Yes, you can replace the single CPU tray of mid-2010 Mac Pro for a dual CPU tray of another mid-2010 or mid-2012, but not from an early-2009.

Kake001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
Hello,