Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RapsacDK

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 27, 2010
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hi,

I have a MacBook Pro 15" from fall 2009 with the following specifications:

CPU: 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
HDD: 320 GB 5400 RPM

I'm thinking of doing a minor upgrade, when OS X Lion comes out. I am completely satisfied with my MBP, but a little more speed using heavy applications wouldn't do any damage.

I don't play any games on it, however, I work as a web developer and Aptana Studio (developing software) can get slow at times (both at startup and while running). I'm using about 200 GB of the 320 GB, without plans of using much more.

What would I enjoy the most; 8 GB ram (4 GB extra), or upgrading to an SSD HDD? I was thinking of an SSD between 200 GB and 300 GB, and then saving my current HDD so I could by a USB case for it, and use for data store.

If I should go with the SSD, are there any you can recommend? I've been out of the hardware market for quite a while - actually since upgrading from PC to Mac. And is it easy to install by yourself?

Happy thursday!

Last edited:

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
More RAM won't help much unless you are using all of your current RAM. Take a look at Activity Monitor, especially page outs. Those will tell you (and us) if you need more RAM.

SSD will probably make a bigger difference but it's also more expensive. If you don't need the DVD drive, you could consider replacing it with a small SSD for OS and apps. Keeps the costs down and significantly improves the performance.

RapsacDK

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 27, 2010
Copenhagen, Denmark
More RAM won't help much unless you are using all of your current RAM. Take a look at Activity Monitor, especially page outs. Those will tell you (and us) if you need more RAM.