Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Clemfm

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2022
So, I have a USB microphone and I want to connect its output to the input of another USB audio device (A Roland VT-4 Voice Transformer). Not physically, only through my MacBook.

I am no expert on Mac USB audio, however, I have spent a day or so trying: aggregate devices, Jack and VB-Audio virtual cable.

Sending system audio out through the vt4 and then using the processed sound (eg recording in Quicktime) is easy, however, I simply cannot connect my USB mic output to the VT-4's USB input.

OMG, how hard can it be?

Last edited:

Puonti

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2011
Looking at the VT-4 manual, there appears to be only one USB type B port on the VT-4, which is used to connect the VT-4 to a computer in order to use it as an audio interface.

The manual makes no mention of the VT-4 supporting USB microphones.

How are you connecting your USB microphone to the VT-4?

Clemfm

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2022
Looking at the VT-4 manual, there appears to be only one USB type B port on the VT-4, which is used to connect the VT-4 to a computer in order to use it as an audio interface.

The manual makes no mention of the VT-4 supporting USB microphones.

How are you connecting your USB microphone to the VT-4?
Thank you for the reply. I am trying to connect the output to the input via my MacBook i.e. CoreAudio, and not directly physically.

Clemfm

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2022
It may not be an ideal solution, and I am open to all ideas, however, I skimmed this master's thesis Microsoft Word - Inter-appn-audio.doc by Richard Hallum and discovered the free "Line In". You can download it from Download LineIn for Mac | MacUpdate

This works perfectly for me. My USB Mic's output is now redirected to the VT-4, and I can use the VT-4's processed output with whatever app I choose.