Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

helloapple1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 20, 2020
I've been trying to make this work, but I haven't been able to. Is there any way I can use the 2008 iMac 27in as an external monitor for my 2019 iMac 27in?

oikos

macrumors member
Jun 12, 2013
I'm not an expert, but I've read responses to the same question before because I also have a 2019 27" iMac and I was interested. My recollection is that it was always IMPOSSIBLE for 2019 machines, unfortunately.

Reactions: helloapple1

helloapple1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 20, 2020
I'm not an expert, but I've read responses to the same question before because I also have a 2019 27" iMac and I was interested. My recollection is that it was always IMPOSSIBLE for 2019 machines, unfortunately.
Thanks for the reply. I wonder why they made it like that.

I think I read that only models 2009 and newer can be used as an external display.

helloapple1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 20, 2020
Thanks. How do I do this?
1. Open the 2008 iMac.
2. Check the model number of the LCD board.
3. Buy a compatible LCD driver board
4. Now gut out everything else inside the iMac 2008 and install the LCD driverboard + Power adaptor.
5. Enjoy the result.
Thanks. I’m not very skilled at this. Is is a complicated process to exchange the LCD driver board and power adapter?

PBMB

macrumors 6502
Mar 19, 2015
I've been trying to make this work, but I haven't been able to. Is there any way I can use the 2008 iMac 27in as an external monitor for my 2019 iMac 27in?
Is there a 27-inch model from 2008? I thought the first one is from 2009. Anyway, have you tried Apple's own directions for this?

Amethyst1

macrumors G3
Oct 28, 2015
There is no 2008 27” iMac.

2009 and 2010 27” iMacs (and only these) can be used as a display with any DisplayPort source.

Since a 2019 iMac has USB-C, you need a USB-C to Mini DisplayPort cable.