Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Zoom

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2004
I've been searching all over, and can't find code that actually works for this. My mom randomly rotates through ALL of her photos (from Photos app) on her desktop, and very often wants to know which pic she's looking at. I found some cool Applescripts that purport to do this, but it appears that what they actually do is get the first picture in the chosen list of images, not the currently displayed image.

Here's the script that gives all the relevant info (including - supposedly - the current image):

AppleScript:
tell application "System Events" to get properties of current desktop

And that gives some interesting info... but the "picture" value is wrong. It's in the right folder, but it's not the image currently being displayed. It's the first picture in the chosen image folder (alphabetically).

I'm a software engineer, but totally new to Applescript - and frankly, it mystifies me as a language. :)

Ideas?

Mark FX

macrumors regular
Nov 18, 2011
West Sussex, UK
This one liner works on High Sierra for the name of the static desktop picture selected in System Preferences.
But does NOT work for the changing desktop picture show for some reason.

AppleScript:
tell application "System Events" to set desktopPictureName to name of ((picture of current desktop as POSIX file) as alias)

I'm not sure the name of the image of changing desktop picture show can be accessed via AppleScript.
But I'll have a further play around and let you know of my findings.

Regards Mark

Last edited:

Mark FX

macrumors regular
Nov 18, 2011
West Sussex, UK
After a bit of experimenting, I've figured out a way of achieving the task, and contradicting myself at the same time.

It involves checking with a shell script the most recently modified and accessed file in the desktop pictures folder.