Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

regis4u

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2007
I'm not a coder and have a basic understanding of coding which is why I'm using Automator.

I created an Automator application that renames a file by removing a specified word and I can select a batch of files and drop them on the application to perform this task.

Basically, I get files that will have a random file name followed by a username in parenthesis (ex: "file name (jsmith).docx"). The task(s) I've created will find the username (so in my example, " (jsmith)") and then remove it, leaving the file name as "file name.docx".

The problem is that I've added so many Rename Finder Item tasks that the application has become bloated and takes forever to open or even run the tasks when files are dropped on the app.

I'm sure there is a more efficient way to do this, I'm just not sure how to go about it. I don't think there is a task in automator where I could keep a collection of usernames I want to remove or another option would be to reference a plain text file that has all of the usernames.

If I posted this in the wrong area, please let me know and I will repost elsewhere.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
You don't need to script this. Finder can already do that. Batch select the files you want to modify, then right click and select "Rename..."

regis4u

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2007
Thanks for the response. I'm familiar with selecting a group of files and using rename.

The problem is that I have a bunch of different usernames I want to delete from file names and its time consuming to just select files with one username, remove that name than do that with the other files that have different usernames.