Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Milew81

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 24, 2023
I have a late 2012 iMac that is running Catalina. I have a new Samsung T7 SSD and want to load the OS on it as primary. Note - I am not experienced with mac at all so please explain this to me like i am 6.

What is the first step to loading an OS onto a new SSD?
Would I need to FIRST load Catalina on the SSD, then use OCLP so I can upgrade?

I am very frustrated that, even though I bought this mac years ago, I did pay nearly 3k for it, and now I cannot use the applications I have always used because I am stuck at catalina.

davidlv

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2009
Kyoto, Japan
I have a late 2012 iMac that is running Catalina. I have a new Samsung T7 SSD and want to load the OS on it as primary. Note - I am not experienced with mac at all so please explain this to me like i am 6.

What is the first step to loading an OS onto a new SSD?
Would I need to FIRST load Catalina on the SSD, then use OCLP so I can upgrade?

I am very frustrated that, even though I bought this mac years ago, I did pay nearly 3k for it, and now I cannot use the applications I have always used because I am stuck at catalina.
First, you need to make a Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) backup of your data, and if possible have two separate backups.
A cheap 500GB Buffalo USB-type SSD will work fine.
Next you need to make an OS USB installer for Monterey or Ventura (monterey is lighter and will still get security updates until late 2024. Ventura will (should) work with that hardware and OCLP, but it is a much more complex system.
Download the latest release of OCLP 0.6.8 for Ventura or 0.4.11 for Monterey. Both are available here:
Run the OCLP app from your current Catalina install and choose the "Create Mac OS Installer" menu choice.