Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Black Box

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2006
I'm trying (rather unsuccessfully) to burn a DVD that's playable in standard DVD players using Toast Titanium 7. After burning is complete, the disc seems to play just fine in my Mac's native DVD Player program...but that is not the case when it comes to your average run of the mill DVD player - like the one connected to my TV.

These are the specifics of what i've done in Toast: clicked on the Video menu, clicked onto the Formats menu and seleced "DVD-Video", "automatic" encloding, and video quality set on "better". I drag the video file i'm trying to burn (an .avi file), then hit the big red burn button and the encoding process begins. Oh, and i'm trying this on a G5 Tower 2.0 dual processor.

Any ideas of what i'm doing wrong? I'm a real novice when it comes to this stuff...any help would be awesome.

Moof1904

macrumors 65816
May 20, 2004
I won't speak to the file format and procedure issues, as I've not used Toast to burn DVDs, but it may be possible that you're doing everything correctly and your set top DVD player simply cannot play DVD-Rs. Have you succesfully played any DVD-R on this particular player and therefore know it's capable of doing so?

DrNeroCF

macrumors 6502
Sep 2, 2004
Is the one connected to your tv a cheap 40 buck player? It probably won't play them, then.

Which type are you burning? DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW...? If you're using DVD+R or RW, I'd recommend DVD-R, if that doesn't work, look in your player's manual to make sure it supports burned media.

nordesmic

macrumors member
May 2, 2005
Adelaide, Australia