Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macnovice27

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 28, 2010
a.png

b.png

c.png

hello all.
for various reasons i believe a former co-worker may have comprimised my machine.
im running the latest version of OSX on a MBP.
i have the entire norton suite running(firewall, antivirus, etc..)
everytime i switch internet connections from home to office or anywhere, norton blocks a few processes. one of them is usr/sbin/racoon.
it sometimes blocks cupsd as well but it ONLY blocks racoon when i come to my office. should i be concerned?
im not a novice but i can pull up logs and furnish any type of outputs in terminal.
i can also provide screenshots.
appreciate the help in advance.
thanks

talmy

macrumors 601
Oct 26, 2009
Oregon
Racoon and krb5kdc are system security programs and launchctl is the program launcher. They shouldn't be blocked. IMHO a good reason not to be using Norton -- the built-in firewall is fine and virus protection isn't needed or useful.

unowen

macrumors newbie
a.png

b.png

c.png

hello all.
for various reasons i believe a former co-worker may have comprimised my machine.
im running the latest version of OSX on a MBP.
i have the entire norton suite running(firewall, antivirus, etc..)
everytime i switch internet connections from home to office or anywhere, norton blocks a few processes. one of them is usr/sbin/racoon.
it sometimes blocks cupsd as well but it ONLY blocks racoon when i come to my office. should i be concerned?
im not a novice but i can pull up logs and furnish any type of outputs in terminal.
i can also provide screenshots.
appreciate the help in advance.
thanks

Yes, I know this is 6 years, after the fact, but, the 'root' of what you ask still remains (sadly).

First; Macs are not/do not run/work like PCs.