Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Draddy

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2007
Hello all....

I am a contract editor for several video production studios around town... right now I'm working off of my MBP, but have felt the need for a desktop system.

A studio friend recently redid his video studio with a macpro, and has offered his dual 2ghz, 3GB ram, 410GB HD to me for $1300.

Now my question is simply this, have you found your investment in a full size desktop computer to be worth while? I could just as easily get a newer referb or used Imac, with 1GB of ram and an intel chip for around the same price...

thank you for your time!

(BTW, I use Finalcut studio, and Boris Red most often)

dartzorichalcos

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2007
Atlantis
My 2.5Ghz Quad PowerMac G5 is perfect for video making and editing. I don't regret buy it. For your friend's deal to you, if you could afford it go for it.

FF_productions

macrumors 68030
Apr 16, 2005
Mt. Prospect, Illinois
Hello all....

I am a contract editor for several video production studios around town... right now I'm working off of my MBP, but have felt the need for a desktop system.

A studio friend recently redid his video studio with a macpro, and has offered his dual 2ghz, 3GB ram, 410GB HD to me for $1300.

Now my question is simply this, have you found your investment in a full size desktop computer to be worth while? I could just as easily get a newer referb or used Imac, with 1GB of ram and an intel chip for around the same price...

thank you for your time!

(BTW, I use Finalcut studio, and Boris Red most often)

What kind of footage are you editing? If you edit for a living, I would not get an iMac, it has no expandability and just isn't made for pros. I am not questioning its power, it's just that it wouldn't appeal to most editors.