Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djray77

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2007
So I talked to the guys at OWC and they told me if im going to upgrade I need 4GB to see a difference? (I have 2gb now). He told me that there isnt much point in going anywhere in bewteen?? This doesnt make sense to me but then again im new to macs. Can someone tell me if this is true or added 2 more gig will infacted be a increase in performance?

OH and also what kind should I get and how many sticks? i.e. 4x512mb or 2x1gb.
Can anyone tell me what brand of ram the macpros come with?

Thanks,

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
This thread is about the PMG5 and not the MP, but the basic principle is the same...

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/260906/

Generally, page-outs (see the Activity Monitor program) define how much you need more RAM. Page-outs are cumulative between boot and shutdown (but reset when you reboot). If you open Activity Monitor after your computer has been doing your more intensive tasks, and your page-outs read 0 or close to it, then the answer is easy. You will see NO BENEFIT from adding additional memory, 2 GB or 4 GB.

If you do see page-outs, there's no solid reason that you will see some magical plateau effect at 4GB. Each additional megabyte of RAM will help. However, it's important to keep in mind that you have 8 slots. Say you have 2x1GB now, and you add 2x1GB more. You still have four more slots, and you can add anywhere from 1-8 GB of RAM in those slots. Whereas if you fill all your slots with slightly cheaper 512MB modules, you will have to pull them out and throw them away if you want to upgrade later. So I would say, go with 2x1GB if you can afford it, unless it is substantially more expensive than 4x512. Not because there's a huge step function at 4GB, but because it's a better investment against future upgrade costs....

djray77