Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jonnymorris

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 10, 2006
North East, UK
I've just picked up a Mac Mini on the used market, it suits my needs perfectly, however I'm currently restricted to 1080 using HDMI - HDMI as the DisplayPort on my monitor is occupied by another computer. Technically, the HDMI was occupied too but only by an older machine that I don't use very often, so they can sit and stew for now.

I'd like to get the best out of the Mac Mini so thought a Mini DisplayPort (Thunderbolt) to HDMI would do the trick, but when I look to buy a cable it seems like an absolute minefield. A 4k 60Hz cable would seem like the one to go for, but is it? I see on some listings that there are different types of DisplayPort (single mode / dual mode - never heard of it) and so this casts even more doubt and confusion on the matter. I've been using this resolution for many years, with Macs and other computers older than this Mini, so I know it should be relatively easy to do.

Can anyone confirm a currently available cable that will give me rock solid reliable 2560x1440 output from my Late 2012 i7 Mac Mini's Thunderbolt port to HDMI please? Preferably one from a reputable manufacturer, or a particular cable that someone has had personal experience with so they know it works with my hardware. Thank you very much!

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
See:

I have a 2012 Mini, served me well for years, it's now over "on the back table".

I reall that the 2012 had an absolute limitation of 1920x1080 when using the HDMI port. (but my memories could be failing me!)

However, I believe you CAN connect to a 1440p display by using a displayport (Mac end) to displayport (display).

BE AWARE that the "thunderbolt" port on the back of the Mini -IS- the "displayport" as well. Same port, same form factor, but multiple functions.