Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sethypoo

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 8, 2003
Sacramento, CA, USA
I'm trying to design a website for a non-profit I'm volunteering for. I have some HTML background (enough to make a nice looking page), but I am using Dreamweaver MX 2004, and have a few questions as how to edit frames.

I can't figure out how to make my left "links only" frame a scrolling frame. I know there is a scrolling="NO" part I need to change to "YES", but I can't find it in my code editing window. It was there when I started editing, but I can't find it anywhere in the HTML code.

The idea I have for the page is this: there are two frames, a narrow one with links only on the left, and a wider frame on the right, which will display content that visitors click on from the left frame. This brings to mind another question: how do I keep the left "links only" frame always in the users' browser while having the content displayed from those links on the right?

Thank you!

Jelfish

macrumors newbie
Jun 9, 2005
Upstate NY
I haven't used Dreamweaver in a while, but I believe the way to switch to HTML view is by clicking some button on the bottom right of the window of the page you're currently working on. Sorry for the vagueness. Hope that helps.

MacFan25863

macrumors 6502a
Jun 20, 2004
Please, please, please, please do NOT use frames! They are outdated and ugly. Use CSS! It's easy to master, and SO much cleaner!

sethypoo

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 8, 2003
Sacramento, CA, USA
MacFan25863 said:
Please, please, please, please do NOT use frames! They are outdated and ugly. Use CSS! It's easy to master, and SO much cleaner!

Ok, I'll look into this. I don't know CSS code, is it similar to HTML?

sethypoo

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 8, 2003
Sacramento, CA, USA