Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

globalist

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 19, 2009
So I'm fairly new to both digital photography and to photo contests in this forum. I got my first DSLR just this August (though I had a borrowed one back in 2014 for a little bit but I never learned how to use it properly back then) and I've been trying to master it ever since. I still feel like a noob and it's all the more amazing about this tech how, despite the above, sometimes the photos do come out great, even unintentionally.

So in this week's contest, I woud like to see your shots that you think never deserved to turn out as good as they did - be it due to your lack of skill/technique at the moment, lack of preparation for the shot, your artistic intention being something else, etc.

I will illustrate with this example of mine, where I took the shot literally 30 seconds after waking up, simply because I loved the color of the rising sun in my garden in autumn. I didn't think of the camera settings at all, just zoomed in, focused somewhere and released the shutter. I never intended for this spooky, Haloween-like effect to come out in the first place and I feel had I had more time for the shot or devoted any significant time to thinking about the settings before taking it, it might have not turned out as good as it did. Or perhaps it might, but I will never know. This tech is simply too amazing!

oZiMjxW.jpg

Hope this one is not entirely vague, so let's get posting!

As usual, the rules are as follows:

· Do not comment, vote, react, or click “like” on images prior to the winners being announced.

· The photographs must be your own work.

· You may only submit one photo per contest.

· This contest runs for one week, if in doubt, check the dates in the title.

· At the end of the week, The Judge will choose a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place photo, providing as much feedback as possible.