Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djfmf

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2012
I currently have an ipad mini lte that I use as my daily mobile device for talk, tex,t & data by using Talkatone. They recently released some news that Talkatone will no longer support Google Voice starting 14MAY14. Since I don't use a cell phone anymore what other voip options can I use, whether IOS or Android?

TheScribe

macrumors member
Mar 21, 2012
Wherever I am.
Now that's some bullcrap

I've been using talkatone with my google voice for almost two years. I haven't paid a phone bill for almost two years. I didn't know this support was ending until I read this post...but then I searched and sure enough, talkatone says it's official. It's googles fault. They want everyone using hangouts...which I have found to be a terribly subpar service. If I can't continue to use my device the way I NEED TO and the way I HAVE CHOSEN TO then I will abandon all support for google. They're going to ruin google voice just like they ruined youtube.

Today was a good day too. Then this.

ugcop

macrumors 6502a
Mar 15, 2012
Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
I use Skype voice. I have an assigned phone number. I also use Whistle. They both cost me a few cents per call to use but service is great.

I've been using Hangout and haven't really seen a problem with it other than it needs somebody to improve the looks. Not sure how anybody could be proud of their product when it looks like it is 10 years old on launch day.

daddyd302

macrumors 6502
Feb 2, 2012
West Allis, WI
I just use Google hangouts with google voice as my voicemail. I also have text me. I haven't tested it on the road yet. I'll test it out when I get a data plan for my Ipad mini retina.

djfmf

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2012