Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

robinfinity

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2011
I am new to the ipod touch and so am wondering what the advantage is that is desirable enough to do away with the warranty?

iPhoneCollector

macrumors 6502a
Nov 30, 2010
Home
You can install new themes and 3rd party apps that modify the firmware (more or less) and apps that han't been aproved by apple (tethering and things like that). I'd say if you are new to the ipod don't jailbreak it for 2 weeks and if you feel the need of jailbreaking after that time then go ahead. Because you may want to have the feel of a "real" ipod before jailbreaking.

Synthion

macrumors regular
Jan 4, 2011
You can get some HEAVY Customization with Jailbreaking, but most just want a background. (added in iOS 4) You can pirate apps. (it is wrong) You gain access to all sorts of apps barred by app store (cool, but some are barred for a reason) You can do cool tricks like Graviboard! (I got nothing...) You gain root terminal access. (For the hackers) And alot of other stuff. Do it if you want.

applemike

macrumors 6502
Aug 6, 2008
By Jailbreaking you can turn the device into what it should have been before apple restricted it.

Apart from customisation, you can apply tweaks and other utilities that allow you to exploit the device and install anything you want (within reason)

It is simple to do and opens up a massive range of possibilities.

It doesnt really void your warranty as if you have a problem it is a simple matter to do a restore before taking it to an apple store to get it fixed

supermac96

macrumors 6502a
Nov 3, 2010
somewhere over the rainbow
By Jailbreaking you can turn the device into what it should have been before apple restricted it.

Apart from customisation, you can apply tweaks and other utilities that allow you to exploit the device and install anything you want (within reason)