Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Miqs

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 22, 2013
Bedfordshire, UK
I have three external USB backup drives all HDD and I am conscious of their age (6 years) and thinking about SSD and possibly USB sticks of 50GB -1TB size. Are they fast and reliable enough to do the job? Or should I go Thunderbolt? Or is Thunderbolt old tech now? I am a photographer and some image backups are quite large so I need something reasonably fast. Is this the way to go? I have a 2019 iMac running Sonoma. Obviously cost is a factor consequently the cheaper the better.

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
Cheap and fast are contrary to each other when it comes to external storage. Only you can determine what is the sweet spot based on your needs and budget.

Alpha Centauri

macrumors 65816
Oct 13, 2020
I've gone the route of TB enclosures+fast NVMe for DAS on my MBP using cloning, as well as Time Machine. Under consideration was also a NAS but it fell over due to flaky WiFi and placement where four to five 3.5" HDD's couldn't be heard. Have you considered a NAS with your iMac? I found that by the time I had my 3-2-1 DAS set up with TB and fast NVMe, it was creeping up to the costs of a mid tier Synology with 4-5 3rd party HDD included. But in my case I preferred reliable directly connected backups, at the cost of devising manual schedules and sticking to them.

OldCorpse

macrumors 68000
Dec 7, 2005
compost heap