Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Samurai Shampoo

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 2, 2017
Hey, how are you guys doing?

I'm a video editor (starting out) and beginner music producer. I work with Adobe CC programs.
Im looking to buy a 2017 27 inch iMac.

I have a budget of about 2700€ / 3000$. I'll be crying when I spend it because it took so long to earn that money but hopefully the new iMac will will bring me more joy in return.

Probably wont do much or no 4k editing for now.

Did a lot of reading and I think the general consensus is:

4,2 i7 7700K = by far best performance but loud and hot
3,8 i5 7600K = Hotter than 7600 but cooler than i7
3,5 i5 7600 = sweet spot
3,4 i5 7500 = for the regular consumer

I thought about getting the follwing configurations:

3,5 i5 7600
8GB RAM (will upgrade in future)
256GB SSD (only OS, applications and cache on SSD. Footage, sound libraries, VSTs on external HDD)

Any video editors or music producers here ? What are your thoughts ? How can I get the most out of my budget ?

Thanks in advance.

fitshaced

macrumors 68000
Jul 2, 2011
I got the 3.8 i5 because I want to be able to edit 4K video. But also I want to be able to apply CPU intensive processes such as noise reduction. Real time rendering of 4K is a nice to have.

So far this machine handles it all well with only a little testing. I'm waiting on 32GB of ram which will then allow proper testing. But really happy with this machine so far. My 2012 i5 just took too long and became really hot and loud when running Final Cut Pro alongside anything else.
[doublepost=1499038271][/doublepost]Also, I went with 2tb fusion but have video files on an external ssd.

BeechFlyer

macrumors regular
Nov 5, 2015
Cedar Rapids, IA
I just ordered the i7 with 2TB SSD. Will have 40 GB RAMby the time I've installed the extra memory from OWC.