Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blackxacto

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 15, 2009
Middle TN
I am not a programer, but I have used Terminal to do many simple things in the past, mostly paste in a command someone else has written, trusting the source. I have used Terminal in the past to modify a fusion drive. There are much fewer ways to change the interface, etc, than used to be. I want to make a "launch-time" Script by my instructions. I have made many application scripts using Script Editor, but never in terminal.

Are the instructions in the screen shot referring to Script Editor app, or is there a document editor in Terminal I have never used?

Hope from the article I added, you can tell what document editor they are talking about. I tried the terminal command and it does speed up TM backups, but as the article describes, rebooting erases the terminal command. So I am to create a permanent script app I think.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-09-07 at 6.35.06 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-09-07 at 6.35.06 PM.png
    58.3 KB · Views: 101
  • Massively speed up Time Machine backups page 2.pdf
    167.8 KB · Views: 110
  • Massively speed up Time Machine backups page 3.pdf
    167.8 KB · Views: 121
  • Massively speed up Time Machine backups page 4.pdf
    167.8 KB · Views: 114
  • Massively speed up Time Machine backups page 5.pdf
    167.8 KB · Views: 145
Last edited:

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
I think it wants you to use something like "nano" to create a text file, but without further context I have no idea why you wouldn't just use a desktop app like TextEdit instead.

bogdanw

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2009
Are the instructions in the screen shot referring to Script Editor app, or is there a document editor in Terminal I have never used?
It's explained on that very page https://www.mackungfu.org/massively-speed-up-time-capsule-time-machine-backups