Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zoom25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 30, 2018
Hi, I've been using Tuxera NTFS for over 10+ years to be able to read/write on NTFS formatted drives on Mac and speed and compatibility has never been an issue.

Since the update to Monterey, the old Tuxera version stopped working altogether, so I could no long write to my NTFS drives. Luckily, they had a beta release which brought the functionality back. However, the speeds are very slow on both Intel and M1 laptops. Simple 1080p video playback and seeking causes issues.

I've loved Tuxera because after you'd install it, you'd no longer have to think about it. The experience would be the same as Windows. It'd simply work without having to do anything after. It also worked very reliably.

Now, I may have to (hopefully temporarily) consider another solution to get NTFS working at full speeds like before. I'd like to hear your opinions on this topic and any recommendations for NTFS solutions. Thanks!

zoom25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 30, 2018
Looks like there is a 2021 version coming out with support for Monterey:

This was updated 1 day ago:

https://macsupport.tuxera.com/hc/en...icrosoft-NTFS-for-Mac-by-Tuxera-release-notes

VERSION 2021 (pending, 2021)

• Support for macOS Monterey
  • Improvements to caching layer for improved performance with SSDs and hard drives
  • Disk Manager: Check and Repair can be started for volumes that are not mounted
  • A notification is shown if known conflicting drivers are detected
  • User manual is now included in the menu
  • Various bug fixes

Reactions: me55

diego.caraballo

macrumors 6502a
Oct 18, 2013
Hi, I've been using Tuxera NTFS for over 10+ years to be able to read/write on NTFS formatted drives on Mac and speed and compatibility has never been an issue.