Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tuxlink

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 24, 2022
Hi there,

I was gifted a 2011 21.5" Intel iMac 12,1 that had OSX Lion on it. I'm completely new to the Apple and macOS ecosystem. I am fumbling around finding stuff as I go. So far I have installed 4 more Gb for a total of 8Gb of ram, and updated to High Sierra.

I want to boot a Linux USB distro in live mode but no matter what I try, it does not allow the USB to boot. I have tried using Balena Etcher flashed to at least two new USB thumb drives, and both times I got a black screen. Is there a 'secure boot' type switch that disallows other OS's to boot inside the Mac world? If so, where do I find it? I have read about SIP (System Integrity Protection) and from the terminal it states it is enabled. Is SIP what's keeping the booting at bay? Any suggestions would be gratefully appreciated.

BTW, I'm thoroughly enjoying finding out all about the Mac world here at MacRumors forum.
There's a wealth of information here for Mac newbies like me. Thank you Mac users for such a great resource.
M

Last edited:

appltech

macrumors 6502a
Apr 23, 2020
You also should switch to that USB using the Option key while booting. So, you'd receive sources to boot in.
Or something is going wrong. That Mac is allowed to boot Linux and other OS types

tuxlink

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 24, 2022
Thank you for responding. I have been using the Option key while booting, and when I get to the bootable drives manager window, there is only two to choose from. Macintosh HD and efi. I choose efi and get the black screen. Maybe the USB drive is not properly prepared for use on a Mac? I thought that's what Balena Etcher was doing. I shall try again with a different USB drive. Thanks again.

winxmac

macrumors 65816
Sep 1, 2021