Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LegendJxli

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2022
I am a video editor/social media content creator with the intensions to go to university for graphic design.
Currently I am using the 14" MacBook Pro (2021) with M1 Pro 10 Core/16Core, 16GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD.
The software I use for my work, for the things I need for university and what I want to teach myself: FCPX, Apple Motion 5, Affinity Suite, Pixelmator Pro, Adobe Creative Cloud, Logic Pro X, probably Blender at some point.
Normally it works fine with my specs. A bit of a problem (what I think) is, that my Mac is permanent on 11-13GB of RAM usage, no matter what I do. In the last few days I began to learn Logic Pro and downloaded all the instruments in the Library so I can follow along tutorials without having to wait to install them. While that download my Mac ran 2x into the problem, that there was no more ram left and I had to force quit programs to make everything work again, plus one time logic just force quitted itself.
Also what I noticed, when I work in fcpx (4k video files) and edit them, it runs mostly smooth without proxys, sometimes it lags when there are some effects or so. Another problem I noticed, when I finish a project and render it, but immediately after I pressed render, start to work on a new project it just can't render the video I put to render (idk if its because the performance is too weak or it is because some settings or just fcp can't do this). I of course know I could use proxys but then my library gets big and I need to delete the proxys after or my ssd is full within seconds. I do store finished projects on an external hard drive but still there are about 500gb used of my 1tb ssd and there are currently only a few projects on my Mac.