Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

overboord

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 23, 2016
Hi! I am looking to buy my first Macbook pro. I have searched the internet for days now, consulted the geniuses, but I still can't decide what is the right thing to do.
it could be that their similar threads about this around here..

Things that could help you help me:
- I am a designer
- I am thinking of buying refurbished
- my budget is around 1700
- I see this purchase as a long-term investment (maybe old is bad..?)
- application I use: Adobe Photoshop, -Illustrator, -InDesign, -Premiere, -After Effects, Autodesk Maya (3D), Ableton (and maybe in the future some CAD and SolidWorks)
- Some of these I want to use simultaneously (I opt for RAM 16gb instead of 8gb)
- If i buy a 13' I would connect it to a 27' screen when at home
- I like power over portability/sleekness.
- I live in Netherlands, Europe

This is the Macbook pro I want (love it):
15' Macbook pro Retina 2.2ghz i7 quad core, with 16gb ram (2014)
http://www.apple.com/shop/product/F...-22GHz-Quad-core-Intel-i7-with-Retina-Display

This is an offical Apple refurbished unit but unfortunately only available in de US... it seems...

Options that are available to me at this moment are:

13' Macbook pro Retina 2.9ghz i5 dual core, with 16gb ram (2015)
https://www.macbizz.com/nl/products...cBook-Pro-13-Retina-29-GHz-Core-i5-16GB-256GB

or
15' Macbook pro older version with pumped-up specs...

Questions I struggle with:
- Will a decent just released dual core i5 I do the job or do I need to have an quad core i7? (Which would be an older version due to my budget!)
- Is it an option to buy a refurbished one from 2012? Or is it to old... when thinking long-term
- other tips are super welcome

Thanks in advance!!

Joe Rossignol

Senior Reporter
Staff member
May 12, 2012
Canada