Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

asap_elias

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 8, 2022
As a computer science student, I waited months for the new macbook air in order to buy a machine with the new design and a better chip.
But I realize that a macbook air M1 with 16gb ram and 512 gb storage is 100 euros cheaper than the new macbook with 8gb ram and 512 gb storage. On the other hand, the m2 with 512gb and 16gb of RAM is only 200$ from the mac book pro.

So I really wonder about the interest of buying a macbook air m2. Moreover, the design of the macbook M1 is so iconic. Are there any arguments in favor of the macbook air m2?

Last edited:

darngooddesign

macrumors P6
Jul 4, 2007
Atlanta, GA
As a computer science student, I waited months for the new macbook air to buy a machine with the new design and a better chip.
But I realize that a macbook air M1 with 16gb ram and 512 gb storage is 100 euros cheaper than the new macbook with 8gb ram and 512 gb storage.

So I really wonder about the interest of buying a macbook air m2. Moreover, the design of the macbook M1 is so iconic. Are there any arguments in favor of the macbook air m2?

The M2 comes with the 8/8 M2 as opposed to the 8/7 M1 so its slightly faster. Larger and taller screen, option for an 8/10 chip, option for 24GB RAM, 100nit brighter screen, better webcam, support for better headphones, better speakers, both USB ports free when charging, faster charging via MagSafe, ability to get faster SoC, and it supports more RAM.

There is nothing wrong with buying an M1 Air today, but the M2 is a better version.

ian87w

macrumors G3
Feb 22, 2020
Indonesia
As a computer science student, I waited months for the new macbook air in order to buy a machine with the new design and a better chip.