Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cyborg21

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 2, 2013
I am new to Mac (Retina MacBook Pro) and my Mac came with Mavericks. I watched all WWDC live and I think I felt in love with Yosemite :D but it will released in fall :( So is the date of release is certain? Also is there a way to get Beta version during Beta program? Also if I can get the Yosemite Beta, can I part ion my disk to load Beta Yosemite on one partition and keep Mavericks as my ''core'' OS until Yosemite releases to public? Also If I can't do that, how will I update OS X? Okay, I will download the App from App Store, and simply click to the app to get Yosemite? Is it that easy or are there some steps that I should do before Yosemite releases?

tywebb13

macrumors 68030
Apr 21, 2012
You can sign up to a developer program and get it now if you want. Or wait for the public previews to be released and sign up to that instead. I don't know when it will be released to the public. I don't think apple know either - it depends on how long it takes for all bugs to be fixed and all intended new features to be added. Then a golden master will probably be released to developers and if there are no problems with that, public release will follow shortly after.

You can put it on partitions. I did it yesterday.

I put it on 2 computers. For the first (a mba) I did it directly from the installer (and it didn't make a recovery partition) and updating from mavericks 10.9.4 beta build 13E9. That was very slow.

If you use the installer directly, be sure to copy it somewhere like an external hard drive first because doing it this way will mean the installer will delete itself.