Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jtwood

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 14, 2004
I'm new to the Mac community. I just switched from a PC. With PCs there are numerous places at which I could d/l a very popular game instead of going around looking for the software.

Does anyone know where I could do something like this for Mac games? I'm not looking for illegal downloads. I have no problem paying for a game.

I'd be very interested in some help because there aren't too many places that sell Mac software around where I live. Downloading would be a much greater convenience than purchasing through the Internet.

Thanks for any help - in advance,

-JT

Doctor Q

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 19, 2002
Los Angeles
I recommend Freeverse Software. I bought three games from them. Their games aren't fancy, just simple games done in a whimsical style with fun touches. Prices are certainly reasonable.

And today is obviously the day to buy 3D Hearts!

Doctor Q

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 19, 2002
Los Angeles
There are free games at abc, the TV network. I don't know about the others, but Alias Underground, based on the TV show, is a pretty good first-person shooter game, although I didn't do very well at it until I read some secrets online.

jtwood

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 14, 2004
Doc,

It's funny you mention Freeverse. They're the only place I've been able to find that I really liked so far, but their selection was very limited and lacked the challenge I'm seeking. So far, Solace is their only game that I've played and enjoyed, but I beat it on the hardest level after only one day. Because of that, I've been afraid to try their other products.

What I'm really looking for is something like Civ III, SimCity 4, or anything else in that line of games. Do you know anywhere that I can d/l games of that nature?

-JT

Doctor Q

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 19, 2002
Los Angeles