Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

christiann

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 7, 2020
North America
Hi all, Ive been looking for an iMac, or an iBook, Mac Mini, any PowerPc Apple Computer for free and no luck. I’ve contacted eWaste places.. tried Facebook, Craigslist, Letgo, Offerup, Freecycle, and now I am frustrated from looking OVER a year. I am in the Southern California area, where can I find an older free Apple computer or laptop? Even if anyone has a broken one, I will take it. I’m a student, I recently bought many parts for these, and can’t wait to fix one, but no luck finding one. I have a pasaion for coding and fixing computers, as I have fixed every computer, phone, apple tv, dvd drive, in our house.. Just bummed I can’t find a free anything! Ive seen many people finding free ones.. Ugh!

I can’t find ANY free PowerPc or even ANY APPLE COMPUTER for free! Ah! Where else should I look? Any tips? Goodwill? Salvation army? Dumpster? I’m specifically looking for an iMac G3..

Thanks so much! Appreciate all the help. o_O

Last edited:

longboarder

macrumors member
Nov 15, 2016
Bruh, just pay like 20 bucks for one. my g3 imac cost me 75 and while that was hefty it was worth it in the end

Reactions: alex_free

christiann

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 7, 2020
North America
if you give people some money first, they’ll often let you have it for free. I do this all the time on eBay.

Hm.. Well I can’t find an $20 computer.. I’ve been looking every day. I did come across one $20 iMac G3 in Florida and they would not ship. I’ll keep looking..

bunnspecial

macrumors G3
May 3, 2014
Kentucky
Where are you located? I’m at the point of get done stuff out of here, but am not terribly inclined to ship now.

christiann

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 7, 2020
North America
Sorry, a lot further than I can do.