Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ohneagency

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 12, 2024
Hi all,

I'm a fairly new professional in photography and videography, and my current setup doesn't cut it anymore. I use photoshop, lightroom, and, most importantly, final cut pro with various plugins. I am often using multiple overlays and effects in my exports.

I need a new setup and considering one of the following:
  • Macbook Pro 14" M3 Max, 16‑core CPU, 40‑core GPU. 64 GB ram, SSD at 2 TB ~ 6000$
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra, 24‑core CPU, 60‑core GPU, 128 GB ram, SSD at 2 TB ~ 7200$
If I choose the studio option I would also need to purchase a monitor, so adding up to a rather hefty expense.... 2000$ extra.

Now, would you experts think it is worth the extra money to buy the Mac Studio with more ram and better CPU+GPU, but with an "outdated" M2 ultra chip?

I usually edit on 4k, 10bit raw-files in final cut pro, but occasionally also some 8k, 10bit raw (S-log3).

Hope you all can point me in an efficient direction.

//Jon

Reactions: Andrey84

Andrey84

macrumors 6502
Nov 18, 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom
Some questions please.

Do you need the mobility of a laptop, or do you work from home 99% of the time?

Also, won't you need an external monitor anyway, even for the MacBook Pro? I assume 16" is not nearly enough for photo- and video-editing. If you already have an external monitor, why are you not considering to use it with the Mac Studio?

Last edited:

ohneagency

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 12, 2024
Thanks for the reply! My current work is very mixed, but I can be home around 60% of the time. So I could see having dedicated location days 1-2 days a week (for shoots/meetings/whatever), and rather dedicated office days 3-4 days a week.