Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EQuiNoX936

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2019
Hello everyone,

I am having trouble to know which new iMac and configuration is best for me.

I am a finance student and I often use a lot of statistic and finance programs on my computer. I use my computer a lot, and, as I have no TV, I like to watch all my movies in 4k on my computer. Apart from that, I do not play games, and do not do any video editing.

I also hate when the computer freezes, as everyone does.

I would like to have a 27 inches display, from the newest iMac collection, but I don’t know which one is best for me. I plan on keeping this mac for a few years at least, but I don’t know if the i9+vega combination is really useful in my case, as I don’t play and don’t edit videos or photos.

Thanks a lot!

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
You don't need the Vega - cut that if you don't "want" it. And by that I mean, based on your described use-cases, it likely won't really benefit you at all, and the only real reason I can see for getting it, is knowing it's there...

The i9 also seems like overkill for you, but I'd have to know more about the statistical and financial tools you're using. Since you're a student I'd say it's likely waaaay more power than you need. Plus, financial applications at least tend to be mostly single-threaded which means the i9 will add little compared to the cheaper i7.