Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacFrag

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 24, 2015
The Netherlands
Hi all,

Currently on latest Catalina with virtualbox but I want to try something else.

Virtualbox eats away CPU cycles not running any guests and I want to try a premium product.

I have some experience years ago with vmware workstation so vmware fusion/workstation could be an option.

I have seen parallels yet looking slick there is something I really don't like about it. Every time a version upgrade comes of MacOS you need to pay again a fee to make it work again on your system. And since this it at least once a year I call this a financial yearly subscription. Its sneaky if you ask me.

Now I wonder how is this with vmware? Is it any differently or can you use your paid version for the duration of lets say Catalina without paying them every year?

Wando64

macrumors 68020
Jul 11, 2013
I don’t like the way Parallels try to make you pay for a new version every year, however I have never updated and the version I bought years ago for Mountain Lion stil works fine under Mojave.

firedept

macrumors 603
Jul 8, 2011
Somewhere!
I use Parallels. As stated above I have not paid for an update in years but it still works fine. They upgrade it almost every year at a cost of $50.

MacFrag

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 24, 2015
The Netherlands
Running trial version of Parallels now.

Amazed that it could just import my VirtualBox machine just like that.

I have 2 weeks of trial time left but if what you @Wando64 and @firedept said is true about that you can use your license for a long time even between updates/upgrades I am sticking with it.

Reactions: firedept

D.T.

macrumors G4
Sep 15, 2011
Vilano Beach, FL