Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

4GLTE lover

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 7, 2013
I am getting an iphone 5 soon and a lifeproof case not sure whether to get white or black case. Does the white one tend to get more dirty than the white one? Also do you think a black iphone 5 in a white/gray lifeproof case would look good?

Last edited:

UMRebel

macrumors regular
Jun 11, 2010
North MS
I have a white iP5 and a white LP case. I would think either the black or the white phone would like fine with either case really. I think it just depends on your every day use. I am pretty OCD about my phone. For example, my screen is always clean. I keep a lint free cloth in my pocket at all times along with hand sanitizer. I also work in health care and am not "out in the elements" much or exposed to dirty areas during a normal work day. So, the white is what I prefer and it works for me.

If you are asking if the white is susceptible to dirt like the white rubber parts of an Otterbox Defender case, my answer is absolutely not. The white on the LP case is a hard plastic and doesn't "attract" dirt like the while rubber skin on the Otterbox. I had picked up one of the white rubber/black plastic Otterbox Defender cases, but returned it within 3-4 days because it was such a dirt magnet so I used the grey rubber/white plastic Otterbox Defender until the LP was released. I actually think they may have discontinued the white rubber/black plastic Otterbox Defender due to the dirt issue because it isn't offered on-line and I haven't seen it in any Best Buy or AT&T stores.