Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fhoto

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2005
Hey, I'm new to this forum and I'll do my best not turning this thread into another "should I buy now or wait discussion", eventhough I guess that's what it all comes down to in the end anyway :p

I'm a photographer and need a laptop bad. I currently have a stationary stone age PC wich catches fire after half an hour of photoshopping.
Now, I've been checking out the powerbooks for quite a while and basically been waiting since last april that they'll transform these "state-of-the-art" machines into something that's actually close to the current state-of-the-art. As of today, I could buy a pb and probably get along fine, but they'll have to cut the price with about 30% first to get it down to a reasonable you-get-what-you-pay-for level. I'd probably spend the next months trying to get over the idea of being fooled into investing in last years technology anyway, but it'll probably do fine.

Problem being, they ain't cutting their ridiculous prices. And as if that wasn't enough, you're all telling me that it'll most likely take another 6 months until they'll bother to upgrade their hardware. And when they finally do, they'll release some first-gen trial machine wich obviously is going to be plagued by first-gen issues, right?
So this is what it all boils down to: since apple has set them and their pb line up for a year of hibernation, why bother about buying one?