Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bluecoast

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 7, 2017
iOS 13, Catalina... Thos year has not been a good year for software quality at Apple.

Can anyone more qualified then I shed some light on what's happening at Apple with their software development and why they seem to have the issues that they do?

As an outsider looking in, much of their problems seem to stem from when they decide to have ‘Big Bang’ software releases tied to hardware releases for September.

Although I’m not a software developer I am a project manager & the above scenario is a classic recipe for a huge crunch/‘death march’ with core features unable to be dropped where quality then will usually be the sacrifice that needs to be made in order to ship.

It feels like Apple needs to be (and use) Agile, but they’re hooked to all of the free marketing and PR that these Big Bang releases give them.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
Agile is already used there and isn’t any kind of silver bullet. Many times agile actually contributes to the problem of buggy software because project management doesn’t understand software development and thinks changes to software are just like changes to a spreadsheet or word document.

Software is very complex and usually project management is unwilling to compromise on timelines so instead of devs being able to fix and adjust as needed they often have to get what they can done in their sprints and push it out the door to make project management happy.

MacBH928

macrumors G3
May 17, 2008
Its because what made Apple shine, Jobs, is no longer there. Jobs high standards produced superior products. Tim cares about the money not the user experience, he is a business man, Jobs was visionary.