Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hamster100

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 29, 2016
The reason I switched over from Spotify to Apple Music is because I bought an Apple Watch Series 2 and Apple only let you sync their service to the watch. No Spotify, Deezer, Amazon Music, Tidal or anything else including Podcasts…. Apple Music only! But seeing as the music library was about the same as Spotify at 40m and the price identical at £9.99 I thought I would give it a try. So by connecting a pair of Bluetooth headphones to your watch you can stream a synced playlist from your watch without your iPhone being around.

But I've been using Apple Music now for over 3 months and I've now cancelled it here's why:

The only difference using Apple Music over any other service, is that it’s the only one that allows syncing to the Apple Watch, which if you use your Apple Watch often without your iPhone it would probably make sense.
  • You can only ever sync 1 x playlist from your Music Playlist, you cannot copy individual albums, songs or have multiple playlists on the Apple watch.
  • Apple Music is itself, clunky and confusing to use compared to other streaming services like Spotify, Tidal and Deezer. The menus and playlists are slow to load and confusing.
  • If you are someone that use fitness trackers such as Runtastic, Strava, Mapmyrun etc etc, then you need to have you iPhone with you. Otherwise you are just limited to using the stock Apple Activity tracker. Sure the Series 2 has built in GPS now but the without your iPhone, the Watch will only track activities using Apples stock activity tracker.