Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

esk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 26, 2016
I've been using a Macbook Pro 13 inch Late 2011 since 2011 as a daily driver for my online business. Now is the time I actually want to upgrade my Macbook because the integrated Intel HD 3000 can't keep up anymore with current graphical needs, so my Macbook slows down and gets very hot.

After looking at the current Apple lineup I couldn't find a single mac I would like to own. The only mac I would like to own is a 15 inch Retina Macbook Pro from 2015. But I will not pay 2000€ for an almost 2 year old Laptop with 4 year old Hardware and integrated graphics.

The new Macbook ist not a bad device it's just not what I want a laptop to be like.

I've always liked that OS X came with a lot of good software. But it seems like every new update reduces the functionality of their softwares. So recently I've almost stopped completely using apple software and switched to third party (which are also available on Windows)

It seems like the only decision apple has made recently that I agree with is to not build touchscreen Macs.

Another thing is the only reason I'm using iOS devices is because I use Macs. And recently even though cook has said they are not abandoning the mac they are no longer really putting work into it. And I've experienced how annoying it is to have to be dependent on one company who's vision for computing is so different from your own.

So for now I'm using my custom build Windows 7 PC even though I would say OS X is still better in design and ease of use, but those aspects are not important to me.

Reactions: Queen6

Queen6

macrumors G4