Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Asianpork

macrumors member
Original poster
May 12, 2016
Anybody have any ideas on why compressor is so ungodly slow at exporting a 2:17min long movie to Vimeo?

I made a time-lapse movie in 4K in FCPx and sent it to compressor to publish to Vimeo and at 1 hour and 5 min mark it has only finished about 2/3rd of the way. Why is it taking so long?

Same with FCPX. I tried sharing the video from within FCPX and it's just stuck at 37%. It move up 1% every 20mins or so.

I'm using the top spec 2017 iMac with 40Gig RAM so I don't think specs are my issue. What is going on? Any help is appreciated since I'm fairly new to FCPX and completely new to Compressor.

joema2

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2013
Anybody have any ideas on why compressor is so ungodly slow at exporting a 2:17min long movie to Vimeo?...time-lapse movie in 4K...

Try exporting directly from FCPX to a file, then upload that file to Vimeo. Use these export options:

File>Share>Master File>Settings
Format: Computer
Video Codec: H.264 Faster Encode
Resolution: 3840 x 2160 or 1920 x 1080

My 2017 top-spec iMac 27 using FCPX 10.4.3 can export 4k H264 material using those settings at a rate of 38 sec per 60 sec of material. So if your source material is 2 hr 17 min, it would take 1 hr 24 min to export.

Anytime you have an export performance problem, do it first to a local file then upload it. Otherwise you never can tell if the upload part or the encoding part is the bottleneck. This also allows checking the appearance of the file before committing to a big upload.