Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 28, 2006
Alice, TX
I'm somewhat new to the mini in my signature, coming from a C2D MBP with 8GB of RAM. I've started to notice that when I get home from work and wake it up, it's very sluggish, almost unresponsive. Opening Chrome takes minutes, reading emails is terrible, and I sometimes can't click on things in Safari.

I'm sure I need to upgrade. I have 4 GB of RAM and a 5400rpm HDD. I guess what I'm asking is which should I upgrade first? Or what's causing it? I checked Activity Monitor and Memory and CPU usage looked fine.

I'm also moving back home with my mom (transferred for work, planning to stay here a while and save money). Because of this, I'm a little tempted to sell the mini and get a MBP. If this is the case, I may not bother with upgrading, especially if it's the non-upgradable hardware. I'm thinking this may not be the case since it's fine after about 10 minutes.

CoastalOR

macrumors 68040
Jan 19, 2015
Oregon, USA
My first impression from your symptoms would be to suspect the HD. Have you run Disk Utility to verify the disk? The 5400 rpm spinner may be getting tired and need replacing.

Which OS? Maybe a reinstall of the OS might be help.

If you decide to do upgrades then the best improvement would be to install a SSD and I would recommend increasing the RAM to at least 8 Gb.

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 28, 2006
Alice, TX
I'll run disk utility. Haven't thought of that. It is the original HDD, as far as I can tell.

And I'm running El Capitan. Same as my MBP. MBP runs great. I'm pretty sure I did a fresh install when it came out, but I may try that also.

Mr. Buzzcut

macrumors 65816
Jul 25, 2011
Ohio
Maybe fragmentation or disk near full or failing disk.