Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

novetan

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 3, 2010
I was transfering 50 GB of photos to two different portable disks via a 2014 MacBook Air. And I can’t believed transfering to my newly purchased Crucial SSD took almost twice slower than transfering to my 6 yr old Seagate HDD. SSD was 22min and HDD was 12 min. I tested twice and consistently same result. Being a tech noob, I suspected it could be cable or connectors issue. Here’s the data

1) MacAir USB port A 3.0

2) HDD has USB 3.0 Micro B connection on the disk side, the other end is USB A 3.0.

3) SSD has USB C on the disk side. It comes with a cable with both ends type C. So I used an adapter USB C to USB A 3.0 for MacAir side.

4) Same SD card reader was used during both transfer with USB A 3.0

Where’s the problem. Can someone advise pls. Tks

novetan

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 3, 2010
Possibly also your USB-C to USB-A adapter is the cause. Either only offering gen1 or even USB 2.0 speed.
Is your SSD a SATA SSD? Does the USB enclosure you're using with it support UASP?
Er...no idea man. Below was the one I bought. As layman, its a SSD to me which shld perform faster than HDD

If you reckoned the adapter is the choke, how to check? The USB adapter is male Type A 3.0 blue colour. The female side is C. I don't see any adapter in the market has any marking. Type C is simply recognised by just its shape right? Or fake Type C?

Could it be the micro B connection cable to HDD is considered super speed? I saw google images describing micro B seems like come with super speed cable. But then the other end is USB 3.0

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2024-02-20 at 2.04.26 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2024-02-20 at 2.04.26 PM.png
    116.7 KB · Views: 22

novetan

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 3, 2010