Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HardBall

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006
Hello, I'm new to the world of macintosh,

Since Apple has announced the move to x86, I've been very interested to see whether I can dual boot OS X in some form on my one of my PCs. Does anyone here have some kind of inside scoop as to Apple's future plans regarding allowing other PC's to join the Mac OS fun?

Malfoy

macrumors 6502a
Nov 1, 2005
Some will say no.
Some will quote an Apple employee saying they have done nothing to prevent you from installing it.
Everyone will attack you for calling Apple "Mac" in the subject.:cool:

SteveC

macrumors 6502
Jul 7, 2003
HardBall said:
Does anyone here have some kind of inside scoop as to Apple's future plans regarding allowing other PC's to join the Mac OS fun?

No. ;)

But in the spirit of forming a reply that consists of more than one word, I will add: A move by Apple to sell Mac OS X for PCs would make me throw up. Twice.

;)

fluidinclusion

macrumors regular
Sep 8, 2003
Green Bay, Wisconsin USA
Yes on April 1

HardBall said:
Hello, I'm new to the world of macintosh,

Since Apple has announced the move to x86, I've been very interested to see whether I can dual boot OS X in some form on my one of my PCs. Does anyone here have some kind of inside scoop as to Apple's future plans regarding allowing other PC's to join the Mac OS fun?

Yes, on April 1. Didn't you see the keynote ;)

Just kidding.

HardBall

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006
Malfoy said:

Whoops, I guess that just shows you how new I'm at this mac business.

I have used mac in middle/high school about 10 years ago; but I have always built PC's myself; I guess that's the reason why I have never been interested in Macs until now.

GFLPraxis

macrumors 604
Mar 17, 2004