Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Binuka Dasunpriya

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2023
Hello!, I am a web developer. I am using a windows pc with Intel i5 4590 & 8GB of DDR3 ram. Currently, I am using Two Vscode windows open, Chrome with about at least 40 tabs open, command prompt, Figma, Xampp, and so on. I usually work with React, Next Js, and PHP(Planning to work with more in Web development). My current ram usage is about a maximum of 7.5GB. I am willing to buy an M2 Macbook Air 15-inch with 8GB ram and 256GB storage. will it be enough for me with this workflow? I am planning to do some video editing on the MacBook, Will it be enough for me(8GB model)? or should I buy a 16GB model? Thank you :)

Reactions: Miicat_47

sailingHobbit

macrumors member
Aug 31, 2022
Germany
If you're current use case already hits 7.5 GB of RAM you won't be happy with the 8 GB model.
First: the RAM is shared with the GPU. If you currently have a dedicated video card with its own GDDR memory in your PC, you will certainly have issues with 8 GB RAM in an Apple Silicon Mac.
Second: you cannot upgrade the RAM in a Mac. So if you're unhappy with 8 GB after the return window, you'll have to sell the MacBook and buy a new one.

Therefore I highly recommend you to go with at least 16 GB for your use case.

Binuka Dasunpriya

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2023
If you're current use case already hits 7.5 GB of RAM you won't be happy with the 8 GB model.
First: the RAM is shared with the GPU. If you currently have a dedicated video card with its own GDDR memory in your PC, you will certainly have issues with 8 GB RAM in an Apple Silicon Mac.
Second: you cannot upgrade the RAM in a Mac. So if you're unhappy with 8 GB after the return window, you'll have to sell the MacBook and buy a new one.

Therefore I highly recommend you to go with at least 16 GB for your use case.
I don't have a Dedicated GPU