Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
With the latest Mac Mini running M1, has anyone here installed and is using Parallels (Windows 10)?
If so, any issues? Also, does your model have 8GB memory or 16GB memory?

Currently, I have a Windows desktop. But, looking to move to a Mac Mini, as primary. With that, the idea is to have a Parallels version of Windows running, if needed. My main Windows desktop will be used solely for gaming.

Thoughts...

PS: I have an old MBA Early 2015, with 256GB storage. Currently, it has 197GB available.
If going with a 256GB Mac Mini M1, that suffice for Mac OS, Parallels and Windows 10, no? Plus if I need to store excessive data, I can do that on a USB drive, or in the cloud.

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
Upon further research, it appears Windows on the M1 model, is not to me, ready for prime time.
Since I have a Windows 10 PC near by, I might as well stick with using that, when I need something related to Windows 10.

At least my Windows 10 PC had its own monitor and such.

bobcomer

macrumors 601
May 18, 2015
Upon further research, it appears Windows on the M1 model, is not to me, ready for prime time.
Since I have a Windows 10 PC near by, I might as well stick with using that, when I need something related to Windows 10.

At least my Windows 10 PC had its own monitor and such.
That's what I do, but I have them on a KVM (intel Mac Mini, Windows PC, M1 MBA), so just pressing a button switches things. I run the Parallels/WoA, but not for serious work, until it can be licensed, it's just a toy and to see the state of things. My intel Mac runs a couple Windows x64 VM's all the time that I use for server type tasks. I use the Windows PC the most because it's the fastest.

Reactions: circatee

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014