Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mectojic

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 27, 2020
Sydney, Australia
I've been holding out with my iPhone SE for 4 years now, it's been a great ride. I do wish I could keep this phone for longer, but as it's about to lose iOS 16 support, I can see the time is coming when I'll need to upgrade.

Problem is, there's no iPhone with a 3.5mm headphone jack anymore. I love the headphone jack – I've constantly got a pair of wired headphones, and it's so easy to swap between the iPhone and a MacBook whenever needed (or any other device, including vintage Macs). As far as I can see, there is no replacement for this level of convenience.

I'll probably end up with an iPhone 13 mini (smallest possible, still wish it were smaller and lighter though), and a lightning-headphone dongle. Dongle life seems miserable... and I know I'll lose it after a couple swaps throughout my week.

Anyone who uses wired headphones have a solution for this that works well? The best solution I could imagine would be some kind of custom case that slightly extends the iPhone and gives you headphone + lightning split...

Abazigal

Contributor
Jul 18, 2011
Singapore
I bought a Khadas Tea amplifier to use with my 13 pro max, but as it turned out, I prefer wireless headphones for a reason.

Annv

macrumors regular
Sep 16, 2019
I also use iPhone SE 2016, and I'm not planning to upgrade. The headphone jack is one of many reasons. I find removing it was meant to promote AirPods sales and improve Apple's bottom line, nothing more.
Except for a dongle, I cannot see a good solution.
But although iPhone SE 2016 does not support iOS 16, it should still get security updates for a few more years. For example, iOS 12 is still getting them. iOS 13 and 14 aren't, but that's because every device supporting them also support iOS 15.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011