Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brianjcameron

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 8, 2008
I currenty have a Netgear DG834N router. I am having ever increasing trouble connecting my imac to it, with it seeing the wireless network in airport, but not able to connect to it, with no error messages. I have tried updating all firmware, and restoring router, re-entering details etc. No avail. I have decided that the router has a fault and it is time to replace. I would appreciate help in choosing a new router, as i am not tech savvy in that way.

I have iphone, imac, PC, apple TV, PS3, and Wii that i use wireless for. I now also have my iPad. So i want it to be proven success with iPad as i know some people have had wireless issues with some routers.

It has been suggested to me that the Draytek Vigor 2820n Wireless router is the way to go, as it has a very strong signal, and i have an old house with lots of stone walls. I want to use my equipment all around my house and in the garden area too.

Hope you guys can help me with some advice. Please note, can you tell me if you have tried and tested with iPad in your response. Thanks.

Pushkar

macrumors 6502a
Jun 9, 2009
SW London, UK
Yes, I have also heard that the Drayteks are quite good routers, Linksys remains pretty popular as well due to the custom firmware available.

I personally have a Apple 'Time Capsule' so that I get 2TB of space for Backups via my Macs and for filesharing - and also a USB port so that you can share a Printer over the Network.

I would recommend that no matter what router you get, you should go for a Dual-Band one, so you can run G and Wireless N at the same time, so older iPhones can go on G, PS3 can use G and your Wii can also use the G frequency while the iPad, and other Apple Computers can run on Wireless N without slowing down the network (Wireless G is limited to something like 25mbps).